Locked Sales Records

It is often important from both an accounting and administration point of view to ensure that particular records are not inadvertently altered by administration staff, and are not altered at all by users with lower access privileges.

To temporarily unlock a sales record:

You must be an Administrator level user to unlock a sales record
  1. Open the locked record
  2. Select the Options button in the top right corner
  3. Select Unlock
  4. Make the changes required
  5. Press Save

The record will automatically re-lock itself at this point, preventing any further inadvertent changes.

If you have non-administrator users that are frequently needing to edit locked records, consider if they should be elevated to an administrator role.

Types of Possible Locks

In HirePOS, there are several types of record locks that can occur, some of which can only be temporarily removed after they are set.

  • Locks that can only be temporarily removed:
    • Manual Record Lock
    • Lock on Export
    • Lock on EOM Rollover
  • Locks that can be permanently removed:
    • Invoice Approval Lock
    • Lock Before Date
    • Lock Paid Invoices

Manual Record Lock (Permanent)

Note
Performing a Manual Record Lock is not reversible. Please take this into consideration before using the lock function

This is the most basic record locking option, and is the basis for the EOM and Export locks.

The lock works by preventing any edit/save operations directly on the record via the Sales>Sales screen.

Payments can still be received against the record, but the value, line items and finer details are not edible. An administrator level user is permitted to temporarily unlock the record to make one round of changes, however the record will then automatically lock itself again when saved.

Non-Administrator users will be totally unable to edit the record.

To lock a sales record manually:
  1. Open the Sales Record you wish to lock
  2. Select the Options button in the top right corner
  3. Select Lock

The record will become locked, and no further changes will be permitted.

Lock on Export (Permanent)

When using the Xero, MYOB or Quickbooks integration modules, you have an option to automatically lock all exported records. This is important as once records are exported, they cannot be re-exported. This means that should a change me made in one piece of software, it will need to me manually made in the other. The lock prevent these changes from happening inadvertently. The same rules and limitations of the Manual Record Lock apply to Lock on Export

Enable Lock Invoices On Export

To ensure all exported invoices are locked after they are exported:

  1. Log in to your Integration tool of choice (Xero, MYOB, or Quickbooks) via the Home Screen (Reminders Screen)
  2. Navigate to the Options Tab
  3. Select/Unselect Lock Invoices On Export
To temporarily unlock an exported sales record:

Refer to the above section "To temporarily unlock a sales record"

Lock on EOM Rollover (Permanent)

When performing an EOM rollover, it is typically desirable to lock the rolled invoices to ensure that no inadvertent changes are made after the roll. The same rules and limitations of the Manual Record Lock apply to Lock on EOM Rollover

To temporarily unlock an exported sales record:

Refer to the above section "To temporarily unlock a sales record"

Invoice Approval Lock (Undoable)

In the Sales/Hire > Review/Email Invoices screen, there is a handy draft/approval process that allows you to preview and approve invoices quickly and effectively before sending them. This same "approval" status can be set on the Sales Record screen via the Options tab. The approval process can also be used limit the records exported to your accounting system of choice to only approved invoices.

When a Sales Record is approved it is also locked by default. However, assuming a manual lock has not also been applied, changing an approved invoice back to draft will permanently unlock it.

If a record has been both manually locked and approved, removing the approval will not also permanently unlock the record.

Lock Before Date (Undoable)

This is a system-wide restriction that can be set to prevent records dated earlier than a specific date from being edited. Also known as "closing the books" this is often used either at the end of a financial year or at end of month to ensure historical records remain accurate.

To set/remove the Lock Before Date restriction

This restriction can be set via Setup > Preferences > Restrictions > Record Locking.

All records with dates earlier than the set date will be locked and will behave the same as a manually locked record. The one difference being that should you remove this restriction, all affected records will be unlocked.

Lock Paid Invoices (Undoable)

A similar restriction to Lock Before Date.

This setting will automatically lock any invoices that have been fully paid. The key purpose here is to prevent changes that inadvertently alter the value of an otherwise completed record.

This restriction can be set via Setup > Preferences > Restrictions > Record Locking.


Did this help?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)